Board of Directors

Executive Committee (Effective July 1, 2023)

Chris Venable, President
William B. Hopkins Jr., Vice President
Pam Kendall, Secretary
Natalie Norris, Treasurer
Sandra Brown Kelly, Past President
George (Al) McLean, Nominating Chair

Board Members:

Taylor Adkins
Frank Karpiel
Walton Rutherfoord
Stephen Warren

Emeritus Members

Sara Airheart
Edgar V. (Eddie) Wheeler
Gordon Hamilton
George (Al) McLean

Diversity Statement

Too often, many events in history have been dictated by the social norms of the time in which they occurred. As a flagship historical organization for the region of Western Virginia, our mission is to:

preserve, interpret and promote the history of the Roanoke region; collect, preserve, interpret, and make available materials relating to that history; sponsor research and publication in the field of regional history, and provide educational services to people and institutions throughout southwestern Virginia.

This includes the history of all residents of this area, regardless of race, sexual orientation, gender identity, and/or religious background. We also work to provide educational services to those that have traditionally been underrepresented. As we look to the future, we will work to inspire learning by including and collaborating with communities of people who have previously been excluded, both historically and socially.

This all-encompassing approach extends into the operational aspects of the Historical Society as well and we strive to reasonably accommodate all members of the public, volunteers, staff, and others. All visitors should be able to freely experience all that the Historical Society has to offer, including exhibitions, research materials, programming, and events.

Any questions or concerns regarding this policy should be directed to the museum at or 540-982-5465.